~*~ The Rock and The Bubble ~*~ By: Louisa May Alcott

Oh! a bare, brown rock

Stood up in the sea,

The waves at its feet

Dancing merrily.

*

A little bubble

Once came sailing by,

And thus to the rock

Did it gayly cry,–

 *

“Ho! clumsy brown stone,

Quick, make way for me:

I’m the fairest thing

That floats on the sea.

 *

“See my rainbow-robe,

See my crown of light,

My glittering form,

So airy and bright.

 *

“O’er the waters blue,

I’m floating away,

To dance by the shore

With the foam and spray.

 *

“Now, make way, make way;

For the waves are strong,

And their rippling feet

Bear me fast along.”

 *

But the great rock stood

Straight up in the sea:

It looked gravely down,

And said pleasantly–

 *

“Little friend, you must

Go some other way;

For I have not stirred

this many a long day.

 *

“Great billows have dashed,

And angry winds blown;

But my sturdy form

Is not overthrown.

 *

“Nothing can stir me

In the air or sea;

Then, how can I move,

Little friend, for thee?”

 *

Then the waves all laughed

In their voices sweet;

And the sea-birds looked,

From their rocky seat,

 *

At the bubble gay,

Who angrily cried,

While its round cheek glowed

With a foolish pride,–

 *

“You SHALL move for me;

And you shall not mock

At the words I say,

You ugly, rough rock.

 *

“Be silent, wild birds!

While stare you so?

Stop laughing, rude waves,

And help me to go!

 *

“For I am the queen

Of the ocean here,

And this cruel stone

Cannot make me fear.”

 *

Dashing fiercely up,

With a scornful word,

Foolish Bubble broke;

But Rock never stirred.

 *

Then said the sea-birds,

Sitting in their nests

To the little ones

Leaning on their breasts,–

 *

“Be not like Bubble,

Headstrong, rude, and vain,

Seeking by violence

Your object to gain;

 *

“But be like the rock,

Steadfast, true, and strong,

Yet cheerful and kind,

And firm against wrong.

*

“Heed, little birdlings,

And wiser you’ll be

For the lesson learned

To-day by the sea.”

********************

Jyoti Arora
Author of Dream’s Sake, Samsung Mobiler

www.jyotiarora.com

logo
DREAM’S SAKE

about.me Facebook Page Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus Google Plus Page pinterest YouTube

Leave a Reply

