Conflict of Contrary Passions in a Love, By: – Sir Thomas Wyatt (1503-1542)

I Find no peace, and all my war is done,

I fear, and hope, I burn, and freeze like ice,

I fly above the wind, yet can I not arise.

And nought I have, and all the world I season.

That loseth nor locketh holdeth me in prison,

And boldeth me not, yet can I  scape nowise:

Nor letteth me live nor die at my devise;

And yet of death it giveth me occasion.

Without eyen I see, and without tongue I plain (complain)

I desire to perish, and yet I ask health:

I love another, and thus I hate myself:

I feed me in sorrow, and laugh at all my pain.

Likewise displeaseth me both death and life,

And my delight is causer of my strife.

Dream’s Sake

Leave a Reply

